top of page

Post lockdown thoughts


As more and more people become eligible for the Covid vaccine, it feels like most of them are sliding into my DMs.


“I can’t wait to hang out SO SOON!” one friend texts me. “Yay garden BBQ soon, here we come!” says another with a photo of their newly painted garden table and fence.


But after over a year of keeping each other at arm’s length, I’m not sure I’m ready to let even my loved ones back in.

The COVID-19 pandemic has taken so much from us. A staggering number of people have lost jobs and housing, missed major milestones like weddings and graduations — and said goodbye to almost 550,000 loved ones, often via the same screens where we work and play.


Even the luckiest among us have had our sense of safety infiltrated by the risk of infection or spreading this virus and have faced life changing challenges during the pandemic.

Now, the excitement of loosening restrictions glimmers like watery sunlight through a choking anguish of fear. And I don’t know how long it’ll take to hack my way out, but I don’t think I’m alone…

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page