top of page

Thinking It's War


Wars rage like titans and they clash in my head.

Feel battle-born and I’m weary, no more tears to shed.

Generals steal my dreams while we troops face the nightmares.

When will this conflict end? It’s tearing my emotions but who really cares?


And all the while, thinking its war

Out in the field of screams, I'm...weary

Sleep with an eye open, trying to keep the score

But it all adds up to, thinking its war


For so long now my emotions forgot just what to say

I was on the frontline and my ears heard bombs away

Is there an escape from this minefield of the mind or is it too late?

To march my way through this no man’s land to heaven’s gate


And all the while, thinking it's war

Out in the field of screams, I'm...weary

Just watching, trying to keep the score

But it all adds up to, thinking it's war


Someone call for the medics I’m in this too deep

​Give me a shot from the nurse to help me to sleep

Or just sit there and talk me through these dark times

When your thoughts are at war you cling to all you can find


And all the while, thinking it's war

Out in the field of screams, I'm...weary

Just watching, trying to keep the score

But it all adds up to, thinking it’s war

This poem is dedicated to anyone who has ever suffered from or continues to suffer from mental health issues. It’s ok not to be ok and you can do it with help...


Llewellyn-McKenzie Communications (c) 2019

Комментарии


bottom of page